Just a moment please.
Travel Insurance

Why Travel Insurance Matters

Is not getting travel insurance really worth the risk? Learn what it covers and how it can save you a fortune in desperate times.

It may be surprising but some people head off on holiday without purchasing any travel insurance. What happens if they get involved in an accident or fall sick while abroad? When they should be concentrating on getting better, they may have the added stress of a huge medical bill. Travel insurance helps cover for such unexpected events.

Dangers of Spiraling Medical Costs
Travel insurance allows you to travel knowing that you would be covered in a foreign country should you become ill or involved in an accident. The costs for a foreigner of private medical care overseas can be relatively high.

For the fraction of the cost of your trip, you’ll be covered for medical treatment abroad. Emergency medical coverage will cover the actual medical cost of any treatment and personal accident coverage. And if you need to be repatriated for care back in Hong Kong,. travel insurance protects you from the cost.

Sporting Dangers
Over 74,400 Hong Kongers took part in sporting activities while overseas.* Now, most people underestimate the dangers of even relaxed sports like horse riding or snorkeling but you’re still increasing your chances of being involved in an accident. If you decide to go with dangerous sports like skiing, scuba diving or rock-climbing then travel insurance is essential, especially with sports coverage added on.

A Quick Question to Assess the Dangers
If you’re on the fence on the need for travel insurance for your next trip, ask yourself the following:

  • Does your current health and personal accident insurance cover emergencies outside Hong Kong?

If you answer is no, you might need to seriously consider travel insurance. Anything unexpected may happen and nothing is more important than protecting your health and wealth.

Quick and easy to buy
Whether you do it online in advance of your trip or on your mobile at the airport, travel insurance is very simple to buy. Just punch in your dates of travel, specify if you need individual or family coverage and then choose single trip or annual. Once you’re presented with the policies available just pick the one you want and away you go. If you are doing any sports activities, driving or cruising then just add it on as an extra to your policy. The dangers of not being covered can turn a dream holiday into a financial nightmare.

References

* 2003 Census and Statistics Department (www.censtatd.gov.hk/)

Call

Get quotes

請稍等。
旅遊保險計劃

旅遊保險有多重要?

出國旅行難免會遇上大大小小的意外,隨時招致金錢損失和破壞您的旅程。現在來看看旅遊保險如何提供保障,為您免除煩惱。

您可能覺得難以置信,很多人在出外旅遊時都未有購買旅遊保險。當他們不幸在旅遊期間生病或受傷,不但要在外地住院接受治療,更要為獨力支付巨額醫療費用而擔憂。旅遊保險計劃就是在當您有不時之需的時候,為您解決燃眉之急。

難以預計的高昂醫療費用
即使您在外地發生意外或患上疾病,旅遊保險讓您不必為醫療支出而擔憂。外地旅客使用私家醫院提供的醫療服務,所需費用往往較本地人高昂,非人人有能力負擔。

購買旅遊保險的金額只佔旅遊開支的一小部份,卻足以讓您在外地獲得緊急醫療保障,包括任何治療以及個人意外保障的實際開支。即使您須緊急遣送回國治療,旅遊保險也將保障您得到相關的醫療費用賠償。

危險運動
根據統計*,超過74,400名港人在海外旅行時會進行運動,但很多人低估了業餘危險運動如騎馬或浮潛等所帶來的危險。如果您決定在旅行時挑戰自我,例如參加滑雪、深潛或攀岩等危險運動,千萬記得購買有運動保障的旅遊保險。

一個問題,評估危險程度
如果您正猶豫不決,考慮購買旅遊保險,不如先問問自己以下問題:

  • 您現時購買的健康和個人意外保險計劃是否涵蓋在香港以外發生的緊急情況?

如果您在上述問題中是否定的,您或要認真考慮購買旅遊保險計劃。意外是難以估計,而您的健康和財富卻是由您掌握。

網上投保快捷方便
無論您是在出國前預先在網上投保 ,或是在機場通過手機購買, 旅遊保險的購買過程都十分簡單。只需輸入您的旅遊日期,註明「個人」或「家庭」旅遊計劃,然後選擇「單次旅遊」或 「全年旅遊」。一旦您從旅遊保單列表中選擇您所需的計劃,即完成購買旅遊保險!如果您打算在出國期間進行任何運動、駕車或出海活動,您需將這些活動加到額外保障項目,以免您的夢幻假期在不受保的情況下化作一場噩夢。

參考文獻

* 2003香港政府統計處 (www.censtatd.gov.hk)