Just a moment please.
Home Insurance

Why Even Renters Need Home Insurance

Just because you rent doesn’t mean you don’t need home insurance. It can provide coverage for your belongings along with those of your landlord.

Lots of people rent for various reasons. They could be saving for their first home, living as an expat on a short-term contract or just prefer not to buy as a lifestyle choice. As property prices have soared in the last decade, many Hong Kong residents are still saving for their first home and are currently renting. While you will want to protect your own possessions with a home insurance plan, you also need to consider those of your landlord too.

Protecting Your Possessions
When you move into a new property, protecting your possessions should be a top priority. You may be surprised how much your contents are actually worth. For example, our spending on electronics has crept up with the advent of hand phones, games consoles and smart TVs. These should all be covered, along with your other personal possessions. There may also be a one-off possession of particularly high value that you need covered, such as a work of art, set of golf clubs or wine collection.

Don’t Forget the Landlord
As a renter you may be liable for any damage to your landlord’s possessions, particularly their fixtures and fittings, which could be relatively expensive. So look for a home contents policy that includes protection for a landlord’s fixtures and fittings.

請稍等。
家居保險計劃

租客都需要購買家居保險?

即使您只是租客,也需要為這個「家」負責任,為它選購合適的家居保險計劃,為您及業主的財物提供保障。

每個人都有自己租屋的理由 — 儲錢上車﹑短期留港工作,或只是一種生活方式。由於房屋價格在過去十年不斷飆升,許多香港人至今仍在儲第一桶金,選擇在為置業努力儲錢的期間,暫時租屋居住。此時,家居保險計劃不但為您的財物提供保障,也同時照顧業主的家居物品。

保障家居財物
當您懷著興奮的心情遷入新居時,保護您的家居財物是您的首要任務。您知道您的財物實際價值多少嗎?隨著手機、遊戲機及智能電視成為日常生活的一部分,我們的電子產品支出亦相應增加。一如其它個人財物,這些物品及您的珍藏,如藝術品、高爾夫球裝備或葡萄酒收藏,都應該受到保障,令您生活更加自在。

不要忽略您的業主
身為租客,您可能需要為業主的家居財物負責,特別是因意外引致的損失,包括固定裝置及設備,都可能相對昂貴。因此,您需要留意家居保險的保障範圍,有否包含固定裝置及設備保障。