FOREIGN CURRENCY LEVERAGED INVESTMENT

Increase your investment power to capitalize on FX market movement.

Increase your investment power to capitalize on FX market movement

Citibank Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment can help investors increase their investment power by up to 5 times, enabling them to capture any upside potential on foreign exchange market movement. Please note that FX investments are subject to rate fluctuations, which may present both opportunities and risks, including the possible loss of the principal amount invested.

Contact our Investment Service Hotline at (852) 2860 0222(852) 2860 0222 or visit any Citibank branch.

Features
  • Up to 5 times leverage of total deposit
  • Up to 10 major currency choices for leveraged deposit (HKD, USD, AUD, CAD, CHF, GBP, NZD, JPY, EUR and SGD) and 9 currency choices for leveraged loans (HKD, USD, AUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, NZD and JPY)
  • Flexible tenor from as short as 1 week to as long as 12 months
Illustrative Example

Illustrative Example

Background

Mr. Chan places a JPY2,000,000 deposit in Currency Manager.

View: Bullish on USD exchange rate against JPY.

Strategy

Invest in USD to earn higher interest and potential currency appreciation:

Step 1:
Leverage the JPY2,000,000 deposit by 5 times through Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment
Step 2:
Open a short JPY/ long USD position (Convert JPY10,000,000 to USD and earn a higher interest rate)
Step 3:
Square the position
Total gain/ loss = Interest rate differential + Currency gain/ loss

Example

Interest rates in this example are for illustration only. Hypothetical examples are for illustrative purposes only and are not indicative of actual and/or future performance.

Calculation of Potential Return

Scenario 1 (Gain): The exchange rate of USD/ JPY rises to 125 Scenario 2 (Loss): The exchange rate of USD/ JPY falls to 115
Deposit Amount = US$ (10,000,000/120)
= US$83,333
Loan Interest = JPY10,000,000 x 1.5% x 1/12
= JPY12,500
Deposit Interest = US$83,333 x 2.0% x 1/12
= US$139
Total Amount at Maturity = US$(83,333 + 139) x 125
= JPY10,434,000
= US$(83,333 + 139) x 115
= JPY9,599,280
Total Gain/ Loss = JPY10,434,000 - JPY12,500 - JPY10,000,000
= JPY421,500
= JPY9,599,280 - JPY12,500 - JPY10,000,000
= - JPY413,220
Latest Interest Rates
  • Citi Priority® Maximum offer of Japan round-trip tickets redemption
  • Citi Mobile® the No.1 Stock Trading Platform* A New Era to Stock Trading

Important Information:Important Information:

  • The investment decision is yours but you should not invest in the Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment unless the intermediary who sells it to you has explained to you that the product is suitable for you having regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives. Your intermediary is under a duty to ensure that you fully understand the nature and risks of the Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment, and that you have sufficient net worth to be able to assume the risks and bear the potential losses of investing in the product.
  • Investor's investments are subject to the insolvency and credit risk of Citibank (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Bank"). This product is not an obligation nor guaranteed by Citigroup. There is no assurance of protection against a default by the Bank in respect of payment obligation. In case of insolvency of the Bank, investor may lose the entire investment irrespective of the performance of the foreign currency market.
  • Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment is not bank deposit and shall not be regarded as a substitute for time deposit. Investment involves risks, including the possible loss of principal amount invested as well as any additional funds deposited with or called by the Bank.
  • Leveraged transactions carry a high degree of risk. The amount of initial margin is small relative to the value of Foreign Currency Leveraged Investment transaction so that the transactions are "leveraged" or "geared". A relatively small market movement will have a proportionately larger impact on the funds you have deposited or will have to deposit. Investor may sustain total loss of initial margin funds and any additional funds deposited with the Bank to maintain position(s). If the market moves against investor's position or margin requirements are increased, investor may be called upon to pay substantial funds on short notice to maintain position(s). If investor fails to comply with request for additional funds within the time prescribed, investor's position(s) may be liquidated at a loss and investor will be liable for any resulting deficit.
  • Placing contingent orders such as 'stop-loss' or 'stop-limit' orders, will not necessarily limit losses to the intended amounts. Market conditions may make it impossible to execute such orders.
  • Past performance is not indicative of future performance.
  • Investors should not rely on the content of this website alone to make investment decisions. They should also read other relevant documents for details including the risk factors. If you have any inquiries, please seek independent professional advice prior to subscription.
  • This material is issued by Citibank (Hong Kong) Limited, a licensed bank regulated by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority.

Important Disclaimer:Important Disclaimer:

The risk of loss in leveraged foreign currency investment can be substantial. Investors may sustain losses in excess of their original margin funds. Placing contingent orders, such as "stop loss" or "stop limit" orders, will not necessarily limit losses to the intended amounts. Market conditions may make it impossible to execute such orders. Investors may be called upon at short notice to deposit additional margin funds. If the required funds are not provided within the prescribed time, their position will be liquidated. Investors will remain liable for any resulting deficit in their account.

Investors may therefore wish to seek independent advice before making a commitment to enter into leveraged foreign currency investment. In the event that investors choose not to seek independent advice, they should carefully consider whether such trading is suitable in the light of their own investment objectives, financial position and risk profile. Investors should also carefully read the relevant Terms and Conditions. US Persons are not eligible for leveraged foreign currency investment account opening and trading.

外幣槓桿投資

提高投資額以捕捉外匯機遇

提高投資額以捕捉外匯機遇

外幣槓桿投資可助投資者提高 5 倍投資額,捕捉外匯市場的投資機遇。請注意,外幣投資會受匯率波動影響而產生獲利機會及風險,亦可能導致本金的損失。

致電我們的投資服務專線 (852) 2860 0222(852) 2860 0222 或親臨任何Citibank分行

特點
  • 投資額可高達保證金之5 倍
  • 提供高達 10 種槓桿存款貨幣選擇(港元、美元、澳元、加拿大元、瑞士法郎、英鎊、紐西蘭元、日圓、歐羅及新加坡幣)及 9 種槓桿貸款貨幣 (港元、美元、澳元、加拿大元、瑞士法郎、歐羅、英鎊、紐西蘭元及日圓)
  • 提供由1 星期至12個月之靈活存款期
模擬例子

模擬例子

背景

陳先生的貨幣理財組合當中有2,000,000日圓,他預期美元兌日圓匯率將會上升。

策略

投資美元以賺取更高利息,同時把握外匯增值機會:

第一步:
以2,000,000日圓作保證金,開設外幣槓桿投資,將投資額增至本金的5倍。
第二步:
把10,000,000 日圓折算為美元以賺取高息
第三步:
於到期日把美元折算至日圓
獲利/虧損= 息差回報 + 匯率回報

例子

此例子中的利率只作參考之用。假設性例子只供參考之用,並不反映實際及/或將來表現。

回報計算

情況1(獲利): 美元兌日圓匯率上升至125 情況2 (虧損): 美元兌日圓匯率下跌至115
投資存款額 = (10,000,000/120) 美元
= 83,333美元
貸款利息 = 10,000,000 x 1.5% x 1/12日圓
= 12,500日圓
存款利息 = 83,333 x 2.0% x 1/12 美元
= 139 美元
到期時所得款額 = (83,333 + 139) x 125美元
= 10,434,000 日圓
=(83,333 + 139) x 115美元
= 9,599,280日圓
獲利/ 虧損 =10,434,000 日圓 - 12,500 日圓 -10,000,000日圓
= 421,500 日圓
=9,599,280 日圓 - 12,500 日圓 -10,000,000日圓
= -413,220 日圓
最新利率資料
  • Citi Priority® 開戶最高可兌換來回日本機票
  • Citi Mobile® No.1手機股票平台* 再掀股壇大時代

借定唔借?還得到先好借!

重要事項:重要事項:

  • 投資決定是由閣下自行作出的,但閣下不應投資在該外幣槓桿投資,除非中介人於銷售該產品時已向閣下解釋經考慮閣下的財務情況、投資經驗及目標後,該產品是適合閣下的。中介人有責任去確定閣下完全明白外幣槓桿投資的風險,同時閣下要有充足的財富來承受風險及承擔因投資此產品所帶來的潛在虧損。
  • 投資者的投資均受花旗銀行(香港)有限公司(「本行」)的破產及信貸之風險所影響。此產品不是花旗集團的責任和保証。本行並未就償付責任的能力作保証。若本行破產,投資者有可能損失全部投資,而不取決於外匯市場的表現。
  • 外幣槓桿投資並非銀行存款,亦不應看作定期存款的替代品。投資涉及風險,包括可能損失投資的本金金額和任何已存於本行或本行追收的額外資金。
  • 槓桿交易的風險非常高。由於最初保證金的金額較外幣槓桿投資本身的價值相對為低,因而能在交易中發揮「槓桿」作用。市場輕微的波動也對閣下投入或將需要投入的資金造成大比例的影響。因此投資者可能會損失全部在本行的最初保證金及為維持本身的未平倉合同而向本行存入的額外金額。若果市況不利於投資者所持的未平倉合同或保證金要求提高,投資者會遭追收保證金,須在短時間內存入額外資金以維持本身的未平倉合同。假如投資者未有在指定時間內繳付額外的資金,投資者的未平倉合同可能會被迫在虧蝕情況下了結,而所有因此出現的任何逆差一概由投資者負責。
  • 定下備用買賣指示,例如「止蝕」或「限價」買賣指示,亦未必可以將虧損局限於原先設想的數額。市場情況可能使這些買賣指示無法執行。
  • 過住表現未必可作日後表現的準則。
  • 投資者不應單憑此文件或此網站內容作出任何投資決定。請同時細閱其它相關的文件包括當中風險。如閣下有任何查詢,請於投資前尋求獨立專業建議。
  • 此網頁由花旗銀行(香港)有限公司發行 (受香港金融管理局規管的持牌銀行)。

重要聲明:重要聲明:

外匯槓桿投資的虧損風險可以十分重大。投資者所蒙受的虧損可能超過最初保證金的款額。即使投資者定下備用買賣指示,例如[止蝕]或[限價]買賣指示,亦未必可以將虧損局限於原先設想的數額。市場情況可能使這些買賣指示無法執行。投資者可能被要求在一接到通知即存入額外的保證金款額。如投資者未能在所定的時間內提供所需的款額,投資者的未平倉合約可能會被結算。投資者將要為自己的戶口所出現的任可逆差負責。

因此,投資者於進行外匯槓桿投資前,應該尋求獨立性的建議以作參考。若投資者不選擇尋求此等建議,他們必須根據自己的財務狀況、投資目標及風險取向仔細考慮,決定此類買賣是否適合。投資者亦須仔細參閱有關條款及細則。外匯槓桿投資戶口開立及買賣並不向美國人士提供。

此貸款是受制於本行的年度全數信貸審查續期程序,本行將以年度審查標準(由本行不時決定)重新評估(可能包括但不限於):閣下的(a)信貸記錄、(b)破產查核、(c)資產淨值及(c)客戶群( Citigold 或 Citigold Private Client)(以下簡稱“全面信貸審批標準”)。閣下可能會被要求提供額外的信息或證明文件。本行可能會更新貸款(具有相同或不同的貸款限額及按相同或不同的條款,包括但不限於還款方案的改變,按本行以書面形式通知閣下)或終止貸款。

銀行保留權利接管任何或所有銀行持有閣下之合格存款或抵押品,和/或在任何賬戶(或您與其他人之聯名賬戶)中的存款以抵銷任何未償還之貸款額,並同時終止外幣槓桿投資 服務。